thermos then and now


I have fond/mixed memories of childhood school lunches. I say mixed because I hated school! Not so much the schoolwork but I was terribly shy and scared and didn’t enjoy going away to school when I had much more fun at home playing barbies. (Elaborate barbie games-don’t even get me started). Well I actually remember my first lunch in kindegarten. (Can you believe I remember stuff from then?). I sat in the playground to eat, and I had my yellow Garfield lunchbox (but my Strawberry Shortcake thermos!?). I don’t quite remember but it wouldn’t be out of the realm of possibility that my mom had made me soup. I later discussed this with Tom and his mom also gave him soup for lunch! So that must be a sign of a good mom I’ll remember that. The Garfield lunchbox was a big player for a long time. I didn’t even choose it and I somehow doubt my mom did. That must have been my dad’s work. I also vaguely remember having a red strawberry shortcake lunchbox. That is either a false memory or that box was short lived and possibly existed before we moved to the house on Pickwick when I was 6. But for certain the Strawberry Shortcake thermos showed up in my first school lunch. I did choose to take Garfield luncbox that day. I think it was between this and the Orange New Kids Box and I thought it a more safe choice. I do remember talking to a schoolmate on the bus about which Jem dolls she had. The New Kids on the Block Lunchbox was shameless! I was SO into the New Kids. Wasn’t everyone? I was so excited to get tickets to their concert one birthday when I was maybe 8? My dad wrapped them in nested boxes so I got to open a gigantic box and a bunch of smaller ones to uncover the tickets. That was probably one of the best gifts of my life, and it might have to do with the creative wrapping. I am a fan of creative gift giving. Once my parents gave my sister and I cross country skis for Christmas and there was a ‘treasure hunt’ with clues. I gave Tom skis last year and did the same thing. Anyhow, I digress. So back to lunch. I was the weird kid who got all this healthy food every lunch. Whole wheat bread, 100% fruit juice, veggies, whole wheat crackers and cheese. No squeez-its or cheeto bags for me. I think I coerced my mom into getting some squeeze-its and some point (and they weren’t even that good)! Years of eating this way and by middle school my friends thought I was some kind of health freak. I was the go to person of healthy eating. I liked my rep. (If only I lived that rep now!). I’m just reminiscing now but I’ll make my point. I really appreciate the values my mom instilled upon me by serving me all this healthy food. It set me up for a lifetime of healthy eating! (These days my downfall is eating out). All of what I just shared I am reminded of by one item: the Thermos. It really represents a parent who loves you. I mean, warm food from home really was special and appreciated in the middle of a school day. These days, I get my Thermos kick with the new Thermos Intak Bottle. It let’s you adjust a ring around the neck to mark how much water you are drinking during the day. Score! Thermos is still keeping it real.

This entry was posted in VINTAGE. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to thermos then and now

  1. amuhlou says:

    I don't have many thermos memories, but I do distinctly recall that neon orange new kids box! My dad brought them home for my sister and I as a surprise, we thought we were so cool!

  2. Kélé says:

    Of course you had that lunchbox too! Figures!

Leave a Reply

