garden woes


We’ve been back from the honeymoon for a few weeks now I’m missing it already. The first week back was no big deal. It was a piece of cake. Now I find myself flooded with all the memories from time to time and wishing I was back in paradise. Stay tuned because I’ll be posting about our adventure at some point after I finally upload the photos from our new Nikon Coolpix camera. In the meantime, I’d like to share a garden dilemma of sorts. I’ve found that we have 3 blueberry bushes, one blackberry, and one currant bush on the right side of our house. I just don’t understand the currant bush. Why on earth did the previous home owners plant that? What does one do with currants? From what I’ve read, they can be eaten off the bush but are tart in flavor. I had a notion that they were mostly used in canning, (which would make sense we the other jam friendly bushes planted). I confirmed this fact with a quick google search. I could hardly find any recipes to make with currants. The main recipe of interest was a blueberry muffin – converted to currant muffin recipe. But really!? I’m going to devote a whole bush so that I can put said berries into muffins one month out of the year? I don’t know, I guess I might have to get into canning. OR I could go rogue and plant this mini rose plant I impulsively picked up at Kroger the other day. Ah, what to do. While we still have yet to plant our veggie garden (shame), we did manage to re-vamp the flower beds in the backyard. We planted White Wedding Zinnias and Baby Blue Eyes in them and the seeds are sprouting up. I’m not sure how I feel about seeds. I think they’re only worthwhile if you start them indoors. Oh well, live and learn.

This entry was posted in HOME GARDEN. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

