dreaming of a garden


So it’s official, we move into our new house this week. I am rather excited to report that we have several plants on the side of the house that the previous owners planted. A blueberry bush, currant bush, and blackberry bush. I am interested to see how those turn out. I’ve always wanted to do a garden, it actually seems to me just a matter of fact to have one, since my dad always planted a garden every year. We had regular and cherry tomatoes, corn, cucumbers, spinach, cabbage, basil, zucchini, squash, pumpkins, green beans, sugar snap peas, strawberries, jalapenos, and sunflowers. There is nothing better than garden fresh fruits and veggies. I have such wonderful memories of spending time in the backyard with the ripe summer garden producing lucious smells. And the taste of a cherry tomato or snap pea off the vine,–un-matched. The way the cherry tomato explodes in your mouth, its just warmth/fresh/summer goodness. I ordered a Gurney’s catalog to gear up. I remember spending many day pouring over that catalog when I was a kid. I would go through and circle things I thought my dad should consider for the garden. I would fantasize about designing and planting my own. Now, that day is here, and I am equally excited and also nervous, not exactly knowing what all goes into the practice. I’ll have to check out a book from the library on the topic! Hopefully I’ll be able to plant one this year so long as I am not too busy otherwise getting acquainted with the new house.

This entry was posted in FOOD, HOME. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

