learn to knit



The studious and ever busy person that I am recently decided to take up knitting. I signed up for a class at the Parks and Recreation. I must say, it was slightly disconcerting to find something in the creative realm that was so….challenging. Usually, and not to brag, my first attempts at new creative mediums produce pretty nice results. But I’ve come to determine, knitting is as much science as art. It’s founded in science, one must achieve the technique right in order to branch out to make it art. So I learned that this is no one time try it and move on to the next creative project thing. This is a time old skill, almost a right of passage to being a woman. I bet the majority of young women haven’t knitted but their mom and grandmother did. I found out that my mom knitted, and apparently her mom as well. Also, my great grandmother Hazel apparently was a knitting aficionado, making sweaters and all kinds of things. So in a way I feel like I am carrying on a family tradition. It’s an American tradition really, and I think that everyone owes it to themselves to give it a try if they are the least bit interested. Although I am merely 7 rows into my first project–a dishcloth– I have high hopes for the future. I’ve photocopied some patterns out of knitting books to keep me inspired to keep practicing. I look forward to one day being able to knit mittens, gloves, hats, and dare I say a sweater!? I found some great knitted pieces at KnitBerry. Oh, one day maybe….

This entry was posted in DO IT YOURSELF, ETSY FINDS, FASHION. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to learn to knit

  1. Amy says:

    I think my first knitting project was the same as yours! My grandma gave the pattern to me on a notecard, kind of like a recipe. I should take up knitting again some day–I think I was too young to have the patience for it at the time.

Leave a Reply

