miniature wedding cake replica ornamnent

You may remember awhile back I posted about mini-polymer clay cake replicas. I was debating creating my own. Well, after some trials and tribulations, I am proud to say that I have a finished masterpiece! It wasn’t an easy road–the first attempt at making the base parts failed miserably until I got a tip from my cousin-in-law on how to better sculpt crisp edges. Well, I thought that was the beginning of my problems, ha. I had recieved some instrucion from a friend of mine attending culinary school in New York on how to make roses, so I had that going for me. However, attempting to make detailed roses, calla lillies and leaves at such a small scale turned out to be quite hard. The first cake I made (yes, you see where this is going) took HOURS, and by that I mean it took upward of 12 hours. That’s like 6 two-hour nights. Well, to my dismay the toaster oven burned the first cake, so I had to start over again. Amazingly, my 2nd cake went a lot faster (less than 6 hours), and ended up looking a lot better. It’s not perfect, but that’s part of the charm.

This entry was posted in DESIGNERS + ARTISTS, DO IT YOURSELF, WEDDINGS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

