classic cookbook/tuna in a bag


One of my favorite things to do as a child was cook with my mom. Even though my dad was considered the more creative one in the kitchen my mom had a repertoire of classic meals which she made by diligent following of tried and true recipes, quite the opposite of my dad’s a little of this and that attitude. I especially enjoyed making baked goods with her and my sister and it remains one of my fond childhood memories. A cookbook that especially delighted me was one that she kept from her childhood, Betty Crocker Cook Book for Boys and Girls, originally published in 1957. This republished replica came out in 2003 if you can’t find it vintage. I am not sure if it was the food or just the quirky illustrations by Gloria Kamen and the ‘testing panel’ of kids that tickled me so. Speaking of the testing panel, anyone familiar with the cookbook will find this article fascinating. One side remark I have to say, is that I disappointed that Betty Crocker discontinued there ‘points’ system that allowed you to save up and redeem items from their catalog. My mom had been saving since childhood and by the time I got around to encouraging her to cash them in, it was after December 2006 when they stopped the program!
For anyone wanting to test out an authentic recipe ASAP, here is our favorite recipe, still used to this day. Make this one for your sweetie. My husband probably thought I was nuts when I proposed cooking sandwiches inside a paper grocery bag. But the first time I made him these he assured me these would need to be a part of the regular mix. The paper bag makes the buns crisp!

Tuna Burgers (Or Tuna in a Bag as we call it)
Ingredients: 1 can (7 ounce) tuna
1 cup chopped celery
1/2 cup diced process yellow cheese
1 small onion, minced
1/4 cup mayonnaise
salt and pepper to taste
6 hamburger buns Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350° F.

Mix all ingredients except the hamburger buns together. Split and butter the buns. Fill buns with tuna mixture and replace the tops. Place each sandwich in a paper sandwich bag. Place bag on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

This entry was posted in RECIPIES, VINTAGE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to classic cookbook/tuna in a bag

  1. Thomas says:

    Tuna in a bag is a must try for anyone. Simple and tasty.

Leave a Reply

