I heart roses


I love roses. It is not just because Shoshana (one of my middle names) means rose. I like roses because of the smell, and the fact that they evoke special moments and memories in life. One of my favorite places to visit was the rose gardens at Frances Park in Lansing, Michigan. My parents got married there. There is something that comes over you when you wander the gardens. It is the quintessential romantic summer night date location. In the rose garden I feel like all my senses take hold–stopping to smell the roses is one of life’s pure and simple pleasures. Frances Park is a formal rose garden that has over 155 varieties of roses. The park also boasts a nature trail and several Grand River overlook spots. (Great to picnic at by the way). Now that you know how much I love roses, you’ll understand why I immediately coveted this vintage 8 piece Rose Snack Set. Made by the Federal Glass Company somewhere between 1950 and 1960, I first spotted this set at my cousin Matt’s house. These were passed down to him through his family. I told my sister about how much I liked them, and by chance, she spotted them at an antique store in St. Joe, Michigan, and picked the set up for me as a gift. Thanks Nicole!

This entry was posted in HOME, VINTAGE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

